What are the 9 colors of Navratri 2023?

9 colors of Navratri 2019

Navratri is one of the widely celebrated festivals in India. On this occasion, the nine avatars of the divine Goddess Durga idols are celebrated with much grandeu for all the 9 days of Navratri. The festival is celebrated for nine nights consecutively twice a year. The festival of Navratri signifies the victory of good over evil. This year Navaratri 2023 in India will begin on Monday, 26 September and ends on Wednesday, 5 October. Special foods are prepared on Navratri and people are indulged in merrymaking. The festival is celebrated in different forms in different states. Many rituals are associated with Navratri festival. One of them is of wearing specific color of dress during each day of Navratri with proper Navratri puja samgri as well. A unique aspect of the worship of Durga idols is shown on this day is that the idol is draped with a dress of a specific color to symbolize a specific avatar. The tradition of dressing in the same color as that of the avatar has evolved over the years.

Here are the nine colours of Navratri (नवरात्रि के नौ रंग) for this year :

1. Day 1: Pratipada – Grey

The first day of Navratri, which is also known as Pratipada, first colour out of the 9 cololurs of Navratri is grey. It shows the dignity, connects you to divine power and provides you Gods protection. The first day of Navratri is the first incarnation of Devi Shailaputri - daughter of the mountains. She is the absolute form of Mother Nature and symbolizes strength.

2. Day 2: Dwitiya – Orange

The second day on which Goddess Durga is Worshiped as Brahmacharini, is known as Dwitiya, colour of the second day is orange. This color is known for fame, name, and money, it also increases the charisma to your aura. On this day, people worship the Goddess so that she bestows upon them emancipation, as well as prosperity.

3. Day 3: Tritiya – White

The third day of Navratri is known as Tritiya. On this day Goddess Durga is worshiped as Chandraghanta. Color of the third day is white. It symbolizes peace, prayer, faith, and stability. This color ensures that the goddess will protect the devotees from harm. Chandraghanta symbolizes bravery and fortitude.

4. Day 4: Chaturthi – Red

The fourth day of Navratri is known as Chaturthi and on this day Goddess Durga is worshiped in the form of Kushmanda. It is believed that as the Goddess laughed, the universe generated. Color of the fourth day is red. It is a symbol of power, passion, and fervor. Red is also the goddess's favorite color. Devotees should offer red roses to the goddess on this day.

5. Day 5: Panchami – Sky Blue

The day five of the festival is known as Panchami. On this day, the Goddess is worshiped as Skandamata, the mother of Kartikeya. People worship the goddess so that she may usher in peace and prosperity into their home. People seek the blessings of the Goddess. The fifth colour is sky blue. It represents immensity and faith. It helps you in gaining spiritual awareness.

6. Day 6: Shashti – Pink

Day six is known as Sashti. On this day, people worship Goddess Durga in the form of Katyayani. According to a legend sage Katya wanted to welcome the Goddess as his daughter. To please the Goddess, Katya performed many formalities. The Goddess was finally pleased with Katya and took birth in his home as his daughter and was known as Katyayani. Sixth color of the day is pink. It symbolizes hope and a new beginning. The devotees who wear pink color on this day, the goddess blesses them and destroys all their sins.

7. Day 7: Saptami - Royal Blue

Day seven is known as Saptami. On this day, Goddess Durga is worshiped in the form of Kalratri. Kalratri, who is also known as Subhankari, means a dark and black knight. The Goddess not only protects her worshipers from all kinds of troubles and negativity of life but also provides them with utmost happiness. Fifth color of the Navratri is royal blue. It represents strong energy and tranquillity. Those who wear this color, the goddess blesses them with prosperity and happiness.

8. Day 8: Ashtami – Yellow

Day eighth is known as Ashtami. On this day, Goddess Durga is worshiped as Maha Gauri. The Goddess purifies her worshipers and also forgives their sins. Second last color of Navratri is yellow. It symbolizes happiness and brings optimism and confidence in life. It helps in getting a positive attitude.

9. Day 9: Navami - Green

Day nine is known as Navami and it is the last day of the festival. On this day, people worship the Goddess as Siddhidatri as she bestows prosperity on all her devotees. Lastly, color of the day is green. It represents prosperity, unconditional love, and richness. It helps in improving relationships.


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*