What Are The 7 Chakras? The 7 Chakras Names, Symbols & Their Use In Meditation

what are the 7 chakras meditation benefits

The 7 chakras of your body originate from studies conducted in the Indian subcontinent between 1500 & 500 BC. These studies can be found in some of the oldest ancient Vedic texts known as the Vedas. The word Chakra refers to the wheel of spinning energy that is present in all our bodies. The texts state that our bodies are made up of 7 chakras of whirling energy that represent each region of our physical and spiritual being.

These chakras are said to be governed by the laws of spirituality as well as the principals of consciousness and can be used to create harmony, happiness & overall prosperity in our lives. They are said to react to the cosmic energy present all around us. This cosmic energy is channeled through our bodies via these chakras similar to how electrical wiring holds and transfers energy to power a house. It is important to maintain the functioning of these chakras as they can be blocked as a result of excessive stress, emotional troubles or physical problems. This blockage can lead to further physical illness, mental & emotional instability.

So, let’s get into the 7 Chakra names, their symbols & abilities –

1. The Root Chakra

7 chakras names - root chakra symbol

“Root Chakra Symbol”

The root chakra is the first of the 7 chakras in your body and is located at the base of your spine. Using the earths energy, it’s the very base of your 7 chakra system and helps lay the foundations for the positive or negative expansion of your life. It helps define behavioral characteristics of one’s self, such as a sense of safety, security, survival and physicality. Therefore, defining the foundation upon which we build our lives.

An imbalance in the Root Chakra can cause the following problems –

• Negativity

• Eating Disorders

• Illusions

• Increased Insecurity

• Greed

2. The Sacral Chakra

the sacral chakra symbol

“The Sacral Chakra Symbol”

This is the 2nd Chakra that sits directly after the root chakra. The Sacral Chakra is associated to emotions, sensuality & creativity. It derives its energy from the element of water and is thus characterized by flow & flexibility. In the front, it is located 3 inches below your naval at the center of your belly whereas in the back, it is located level with your lumbar vertebrae and expands to the genital regions of your body.

It is associated to the realm of emotions and is the center of our feelings & sensations. It actively defines our sexuality & helps express our sensual desires. Motivated by a sense of pleasure & satisfaction, it is the driving force for enjoyment in our lives. Opening your sacral chakra allows you to feel the world around us & within us.

An imbalance in the Sacral Chakra can cause the following problems –

• Feeling Numb

• Dependency On Substance Abuse

• Overindulgence

• Lack Of Joy

• Feeling Depressed

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra

solar plexus chakra symbol

“The Solar Plexus Chakra Symbol”

Located on the upper part of your belly where your diaphragm rests, it is the third chakra in line starting from the bottom. This Chakra is associated to will power, control, mental intellect, decision making, confidence, discipline and more helping you define the level of control you have on your life.

An imbalance in the Solar Plexus Chakra can result in the following problems –

• A need to exert control over others

• Feeling helpless

• Overthinking

• Lack of direction

• Manipulative & Malicious Behavior

4. The Heart Chakra

heart chakra symbol

"The Heart Chakra Symbol"

As the name sort of suggests, this Chakra is located in the center of your chest. Not where your heart lies, but the very center of your chest. This Chakra helps you define love, compassion, grief, forgiveness, acceptance & awareness in your life. Once opened, the heart chakra helps you feel deeply connected with everything that is around you.

An imbalance in the Heart Chakra can cause the following issues –

• Excessive Jealousy

• Dependency

• Feeling Withdrawn

• Lack Of Emotions

5. The Throat Chakra

throat chakra symbol

"The Throat Chakra Symbol"

Again, as the name suggests, this Chakra is located at the center of your neck at the level of your throat. It carries energy from the lower part of your body to your head & vice-versa. This particular chakra deals with the sound created through vibrations coming from our throats. This chakra is connected to the mouth, jaws, tongue, pharynx, palate as well as the shoulders & neck. It aids in expression of one’s self, communication that’s both verbal and nonverbal, connection with the etheric realm & helps turn ideas into reality if all is well.

An imbalance in the same can have the following effects –

• Lack of speech control

• Inability to listen

• Fear of expression

• Lying

• Lack of purpose in life

6. The Third Eye Chakra

third eye chakra symbol

"The Third Eye Chakra Symbol"

This chakra is said to be located behind the eyes in the middle of your head, just above the bridge of your nose. It is associated to the pineal glands that are in charge of regulating biorhythms that include sleep & wake time. This chakra is said to enhance your vision, intuition and perception of dimensions as well as the energy that moves within. It can grant access to a mystical state of being & can help increase the level of wisdom possessed by an individual. It is instrumental in perceiving the subtle qualities of reality that are often missed.

An imbalance in the same can have the following side effects –

• Feeling trapped

• Lack Of Clarity

• Inability To See The Bigger Picture

• No Vision For Yourself

It is is even said that an overactive 3rd eye chakra can manifest fantasies that over power the reality of life.

7. The Crown Chakra

crown chakra symbol

"The Crown Chakra Symbol"

Located at the top of your head, the 7th and final chakra gives us access to a higher state of consciousness. It helps one open up to a state of being that is beyond our basic perception of reality. Not only does it open up a higher state of consciousness, but it also helps liberate limiting patterns in order to help us achieve ecstasy. Whether our limitations are bound to space, time or personal qualities, a balance in the crown chakra can throw you into a blissful union with spiritual ecstasy.

An imbalance in the same can have the following effects –

• Closed Mindedness

• Unhealthy Spiritual Attachments

• Being disconnected from your Body

• Cynical Behavior

We hope this helped you get a basic understanding of the 7 Chakras. With the right amount of will power & passion, anyone on this planet can channel their inner chakras into a perfect balance. Thus, giving them a superior state of being. One can even use Reiki products otherwise known as Chakra healing stones to help themselves optimize their 7 Chakras & benefit them in their meditational practices.

Stay tuned for more details on the 7 chakras & their meditational benefits.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*