Celebrate The Nine Days of Navratri with Nine Colours & Their Significance

Celebrate The Nine Days of Navratri with Nine Colours & Their Significance

Which dress to wear? Which colour to choose? Come Navratri and we find ourselves stuck in finalizing how to pick today’s Navratri colour!

Whether you’re wearing sarees, salwar suits or any other outfit in Navratri 2019, you can pick nine colors for 9 specific days!

Our Navratri special guide is here to help you find which colour to wear on which day of nine auspicious nights! It doesn’t matter whether you are going for work or taking part in Dandiya and Garba, you can reflect your festive side by picking the right colour!

Whether it’s Vasant Navratri or Shard or Shardiya Navratri this list helps you pick the right shade for that particular day. Let’s take a look at the importance of 9 colours on nine days.

Day-1 Ghatasthapana or Pratipada (Yellow)- Maa Shailaputri

Maa Shailaputri

The first day observes the commemoration of Maa Shailaputri. Her name depicts who she really is. Her name has two words ‘Shaila’ that stands for mountains and ‘Putri’ that means daughter. She is the daughter of the mountain and is also adulated as Goddess Parvati or Hemavati.

Shailaputri is the first incarnation of Goddess Durga. As she is dressed in yellow saree, the hue of the day is yellow.

Day-2 Dwitiya (Green)- Goddess Brahmacharini

Goddess Brahmacharini

On the second day of Navratri, devotees pay their reverence to Maa Brahmachari. She is deemed as the symbol of courage, calmness, and beauty. Her manifestation is highly regarded among meditators. Green is the special colour for this day.

Day-3 Tritiya (Grey)- Goddess Chandraghanta


Among nine colours of Navratri, the third day symbolizes grey shade. It is also the day to worship Maa Chandraghanta. She is regarded as the symbol of serenity and beauty. She stands for courage and fulfills the desires of Her devotees. Goddess is believed to be dressed in grey shade hence, the colour of the day is grey.

Day-4 Chaturthi (Orange)- Goddess Kushmanda

The fourth day of Navratri is dedicated to Maa Kushmanda. Her name is made from two words ‘Ku’ that stands for ‘a little’ and ‘Usma’ that exemplifies energy. The attire of the Goddess is orange, therefore the colour of the fourth day of nine auspicious nights is orange.

Day-5 Panchami (White)- Goddess Skandmata


Goddess Skandmata, on the fifth day, is dressed in white attire. Hence, this is the colour of the day. Devotees observe Lalita Gauri fast as well.

Day-6 Shashti (Red)- Goddess Katyayani


The sixth day is dedicated to Goddess Katyayani who is dressed in the red ensemble. Devotees pay their reverence to the Goddess by wearing the red saree, dresses, and outfits.

Day-7 Saptami (Royal Blue)- Goddess Kaalratri

On the seventh day of Navratri, devotees worship Goddess Kaalratri. The Goddess appears in blue attire. Devotees also observe Maha Saptami Pooja and wear blue coloured outfits.

Day-8 Ashtami (Pink)- Goddess Maha Gauri

Maha Gauri

The eight-day of auspicious Navratri is dedicated to Maa Maha Gauri. She is believed to wear pink attire, hence, devotees wear pink outfits to show their reverence. People also conduct Maha Ashtami pooja to seek the blessings of the Goddess.

Day-9 Navmi (Purple)- Goddess Siddhidatri


On the 9th day of Navratri, devotees worship Goddess Siddhidatri. She is the last manifestation of Goddess Durga. The colour of Her attire is purple, therefore, people wear purple outfits to show their devotion.

Now you know the nine colours of Navratri and their significance. It's high time to wear 9 different sarees for all 9 days. Hold on, it doesn't end here. You can drape these sarees in 9 different ways, making it a new color, new saree, and new style all 9 days!

Happy Navratri!

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*